Am I Mistaken

Yesterday I wrote this post about a site that purports to be an army recruiting information site. Several things make me suspicious:

  1. The domain uses an anonymous registration company, Domains by Proxy.
  2. The email address the used when the tried to register with the Blogiversary Database is a gmail account.
  3. The domain has only been registered since April.
  4. I found quite a few links to the site seeded in forums and the like.

Something about this just doesn’t smell right. If you have any information, or expertise in tracking something like this down, please let me know.

I’d hate to think that someone is using a fake army recruiting site to conduct identity theft. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

If I’m wrong, my apologies. If I’m right, let’s bring them down.

Sphere: Related Content

This entry was posted in Our Military, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Am I Mistaken

  1. Pingback: coComment - Site comments by bamapachyderm

  2. Jeb says:

    hey, check out http://www.pardonlibby.net

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  3. Beth says:

    I emailed goarmy.com, and I’m asking Sgt Lori too, (http://sgtsledgehammer.blogspot.com/) because she’s a recruiter.

    Sounds pretty fake to me–why on earth an Army recruiting site would want to join a blogiversary database is beyond me! And really, why would there be another site when goarmy.com serves the purpose, and about a zillion times better than that ten-minute creation?

    FAKE.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  4. rachel says:

    Wow. Let’s start with the gmail address on the contact page, not a .mil. Or the fact that “army” is not capitalized twice on the main page. Or that the address on the “contacts” page is to Ft. Sam Houston, but the recruiter for that zip code is in San Antonio.

    If this is official, the person who designed the page should be beaten with a keyboard for making enough mistakes that the page screams “fake.”

    Have you thought about sending something to someone at Ft. Sam Houston?

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  5. Leo Pusateri says:

    I’ve done a lot more digging into the matter.

    This poltroon doesn’t know what he’s gotten himself into.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  6. Leo Pusateri says:

    I’ve done a lot more digging into this.

    This poltroon knows not what he’s gotten himself into ;-)

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  7. Debbie says:

    Sorry to get back to you so late on this. I was in the hospital yesterday having surgery, and didn’t check my email Wednesday evening.

    It sounds like this guy is fake and up to no good. But I think you know I’m technically challenged so I will let those with more knowhow dig into it.

    I will mention it at Right Truth this afternoon and see if any readers know anything.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0